Emergency Access Kit

Are you wondering what an Emergency Access Kit is, why you have to make one for your Clinnect account, or how to use it?

We’ve provided all these details below. If you have any questions please contact us and we will happily help!

What is an Emergency Access Kit?

If you forget your password, your Emergency Access Kit allows you to access your account and reset your password. Your Emergency Access Kit is unique to your Clinnect account, and each user has their own Emergency Access Kit. This kit is comprised of a grid of 24 words. The location of each word in the grid is incredibly important, as you will be required to input all 24 words in their grid position to reset your password.

Why can’t I just reset my password like on other sites, by clicking a link in my email?

This is a question we get a lot, and it comes down to the fact that other sites have access to your account to do this, we at Clinnect know that patient information is way too important to allow us access. We use encryption so patient information can only be seen by those who are a member of the sending or receiving practice for each referral. Even staff at Clinnect with access to our database cannot view this data. As a user, you are able to see patient information because your password can decrypt the encrypted data (i.e. take a long string of numbers and letters and turn it into readable patient details).

If you lose your password, there is no way to decrypt the patient information anymore. Therefore, the Emergency Access Kit acts as a backup password that can decrypt the patient data. When you input the Emergency Access Kit and reset your password, the Emergency Access Kit can enable your new password to decrypt patient information.

Is this two-factor authentication?

No, the Emergency Access Kit is different than two-factor authentication (2FA). Two factor authentication is simply ensuring you are who you say you are, and is typically used as part of the login process.

The Emergency Access Kit is only necessary when you are resetting your password. Its purpose is technical, to ensure that the patient data is not accessible by anyone else.